What is an Opportunity Zone?

An area within an economically distressed community where new investments, under certain conditions, may be eligible for preferential tax treatment by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Opportunity Zones are designed to spur economic development and job creation in distressed communities.

Opportunity Zones were created as part of the 2017 federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, a federal program designed to encourage long-term capital investments in distressed communities. 

Investors in Opportunity Zones can defer payment of federal income taxes on capital gains reinvested in Qualified Opportunity Funds that fund projects in the distressed communities.  Reinvested capital gains are deferred from taxation until they exit from the Qualified Opportunity Fund or December 31, 2026, whichever comes first.

Burlington County has five Opportunity Zones in the following municipalities:

  • Burlington City   MAP
  • Palmyra Borough   MAP
  • Pemberton Township   MAP
  • Riverside Township   MAP
  • Willingboro Township   MAP

Liz Verna, Acting Director
Economic Development & Regional Planning Dept
1300 Route 73 North, PO Box 6
Palmyra, NJ 08065
856-829-1900 FAX (609) 265-5006

Physical Address:
1900 Briggs Road
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054

Mailing Address:
1300 Rte. 73 North, PO Box 6
Palmyra, NJ 08065-1900

Alternating Traffic Burlington Bristol Bridge Mon-Fri 9PM-5AM